3DXChat Community

Oculus Rift doesn't load

jessica43928

I'm new to 3dxchat.  I'm trying to use the oculus rift.  Inside the headset, it just says that it's loading, and stays like that forever.  However, on the actual computer screen, it works fine, I can log in, create a character, and play the game.  Even while the game is active on the computer screen, it still says loading inside the headset.  Is there something I'm doing wrong?

Before you log in, Did you press the big purple "Enable Virtual reality"  button?

YnNxhxH.png

It is right under log in button. You gotta press that. then it will show a big "Put on headset" on your screen.

6zuBdH2.png

Then you put Oculus on and log in through headset. 

It works with my OG rift. Not sure about newer Rift S or the other ones though. 

There is a box you can check off and on  in the  Game settings menu to activate the rift when in game on the fly as well. 

4UjKu4U.png

Oh and finally make sure you have "Unknown sources" check to on in the Oculus software settings. 

90pGZGb.png

Goodluck!  Hope it works for you.

Edited by Nymphpott
spelling

3 minutes ago, jessica43928 said:

Okay, just figured that part out, thanks!  Unfortunately, now the controllers don't work

Yeah the touch controllers dont work for much :(  Mainly gotta keyboard and mouse it. There is ways to kinda remap the controllers to mimic mouse and keys but its a real pain in the derriere to figure out. I gave up on it.

If you are having problems with stuttering or lag. Turn down the grafix settings in game and uncheck some of the lighting boxes . it can help for certain maps and user created rooms. 

5 minutes ago, jessica43928 said:

okay, nevermind, I have it mostly working now.  Just need to get the sound.

Click the volume button on the right of your taskbar and switch to Headphones(Rift audio) Or Headphones(oculus virtual audio device).