3DXChat Community

Gizmo, is it possible...

THX

Its a good idea but the only way to convert a .obj to a .world file would be to convert each face to a square or multiple triangles. Depending on the position of the face each one would require either one square or between two and four triangles using the existing objects. I actually have written most of a blender plugin to do that, but I never figured how to convert the angles I can get form blender to the world space rotations. It would be nice if the .world file format was updated to have each objects local rotation instead of the world rotation that would be really nice and allow for people to edit and work with the format much more easily.

From what I understand, you want to avoid triangles at all costs and add extra faces. I am no expert, but a couple of Blender videos talk about problems that arise if triangles are left.

I was just curious if Gizmo had a tool already to do this he could provide. Hell, if we could even import a scene in that can't be edited in world editor, like the rooms prior WE couldn't be.. that would be kewl too.

Snipergirl, I totally agree server is priority and everything else has to wait till that is done. That shouldn't take them all that long I'd think. I'd think they know their server behaviors fairly well by now.

the advantage of bringing hard props in though would be the reduction of lots of small props and decerased rendering I'd think.

I'd think that an extensive list of hundreds of props that coukd be retextured like a clothing editor can would also reduce the number of Prims to build basic things like couches, beds, lights, appliances and furniture in general.